The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

When All Else Fails – Laugh

4 Comments

To help me cope with a situation or person that was driving me nuts, I used to engage a certain strategy.  In place of going to pieces or getting outwardly angry, I would think of something funny that could happen in that situation or conversation.  Of course, this was kept in my head until the danger had passed.   I also had to practice being an actress.  I couldn’t laugh out loud if the real-life situation didn’t call for it.

You may be wanting an example right about now.  Okay, I will give you a hypothetical situation – because I can’t remember an example from me – it’s been so long since I’ve had to use this tactic.  And remember, what would be funny to me may not be funny to you.  The gist of this whole exercise is to turn on your own creativity, and whatever works for you will be just fine.

*If I were bored at the opera house, I would imagine a housefly flying into the mouth of the diva just as she is holding a very long note.   *In a stressful office situation, the countless perfectly-organized piles of paper would fall into one heap as a little monster appeared from nowhere and turned a fan onto the whole project.   *Stress at work?  I’d find the nearest long and wide hallway and in real life perform a series of perfectly-executed cartwheels.

Tuning out from the situation at hand to think of your favorite song or color or travel location might work, too.  Laughter, however, is the best remedy, since it is the endorphins released that are very good for the soul, mind and body.

For my readers that know me:  just think of good ol’ Debb, and that should be funny enough!  🙂

Have a good day!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “When All Else Fails – Laugh

  1. I smiled as I read the examples, knowing that you would certainly have that sparkle in your eye as these little pictures came to mind! I can share an example with you, too. If I am in a situation where I feel intimidated, I picture myself as Princess Fiona from Shrek and the opponent as Lord Farquad. It works for me! Yes, you are so right, Debb. Laughter is the best medicine of all. Thanks for reminding me!

~Let me know you were here~

