The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Writer’s Block or Other Stuck Places – Part One

Leave a comment


I have not had writer’s block yet, but I have heard several educated discussions on ways to overcome it, and I have a few ideas of my own. I’ll share them here for your consideration the next time you have writer’s block – or another situation of “stuck”.
[You’ve probably heard this one already]
* Write anything, any words that come to mind, and use no punctuation or editing, just write and write and write…for 10 minutes straight. “But I can’t even think of one thing to write about,” you say. Well, then write what you just told me; you should keep writing that, repeating as often as necessary. Or, you may find that you just may want to elaborate on one of your strings of thought as something to write after the 10 minute exercise. Maybe it’s not the project you were thinking you should write on today; but this will get you flowing.
* Exercise – if you are feeling sluggish, then a walk is in order. If you just can’t settle down, then relax or meditate for 10-30 minutes.
* Write down 10 things that you are thankful for today. That may give you an idea on something you could write about.
* If you have a pet, did it do something amusing today? A lot of my children’s storybook ideas are from situations I saw with my pets or while outside on a walk.
* Go to a public place and casually people-watch. What could the couple in the booth behind you have been arguing about? What might be the story of the lady going down the street and using a walker?
* Use “The Hand Method”. For the thumb and each of the fingers on your hand, write what you notice around you with each sense. i.e. write 5 things that you see, 4 things that you hear, 3 things that you smell, 2 things that you feel, and 1 thing that you taste. I’ll give you an example:
I see a park bench, pair of birds, green grass, a tree, and a kite in the sky. I hear birds singing, kids in park calling to one another, a tennis ball thudding as it goes back and forth in a game behind the park, and a fire engine. I smell freshly cut grass, rain in the air, and apple blossoms. I feel my soft jeans that I finally got soft enough and the plastic, stiff feel of my raincoat. I taste my stale chewing gum.

And there you have it. Tomorrow: getting unstuck in any situation.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

