The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Debb Will Practice What She Preaches!

4 Comments

Minnesota State Patrol

Minnesota State Patrol (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Howdy –

A Good Day

Tonight I was driving home from work, when on the highway I ran out of gas.

I tell you, the experience was more difficult than catching a bass.

I sat and waited for the “Highway Helper” once the state patrol called him to come,

As I grew faint from the high temps and felt so utterly dumb.

Mr. State Patrol advised me that pulling onto an off-ramp was not good enough,

he would give me just a warning this time but next time could be rough!

After ten minutes of waiting, I was all set to go and drove to a gas station one mile away.

Now I could go home and smile at the day.

It had actually been a very good day,

getting lots of work done and also having smiles and fun.

The positive part of this experience was:  I didn’t get a ticket.

Nicer than a poor deer getting caught in a thicket.

And you’re wondering, why does Debb often rhyme?

It relieves stress so that I can say, “Okay, happy life, one more time!”

–DLS

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Debb Will Practice What She Preaches!

  1. Just to make sure everyone knows, the State Patrol officer was very helpful and his approach was very patient and professional. StellarS and her friends support law enforcement of course, as one never knows… Great poem!

  2. So sorry that you had to go through that, but good that you got some help and that you didn’t get a ticket. Where were you supposed to pull off. If you’re out of gas, you don’t really have options!!!

~Let me know you were here~

