The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

German Potato Salad

7 Comments

Kartoffelsalat, in Österreich auch Erdäpfelsalat

Kartoffelsalat, in Österreich auch Erdäpfelsalat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, so yesterday we talked about my infamous bragging-about-skiing episode.  Our thoughts today will turn to a young bride (me) that had tried to impress someone with her cooking.  It turns out, I cooked myself right into a red-faced corner back then!  I must not have remembered the skiing escapade.

My husband and I, newlyweds for about three months, had my boss over for dinner one night after a busy day at work.  My boss would be alone for dinner with his wife out of town, so I said, “Come over and eat with us; I can cook you my mom’s “famous” German potato salad!”

Not too many Swedes and Norwegians in Minnesota knew about the German style of potato salad, so I was confident I would present a good representation of my mom’s recipe.  Her recipe I did follow, since I was a pretty good cook as long as I followed a recipe, and nothing must make me look like a liar tonight!

This will be simple, I told myself.  How hard can it be?  Well, now I wished I would’ve watched Mom create her triumph.  It sure wasn’t a triumph for me!

The potatoes I cooked took forever to boil.  And then when they were cooked, they had gotten too mushy to slice them into the recipe as called for.

The sauce had another story to tell.   I was supposed to have cooked it from a little bacon grease and add spices and a little flour so that it would coat the potatoes.   I should have demanded to know where these little sticky clumps of brown came from.  Certainly this proficient cook didn’t have the burner on too high!?

Next question was, how could I combine one pile of mush (white) with the sauce clumps (brown)?  I don’t think I did.  I can’t remember what I served that night, but I know it had nothing to do with potatoes!  🙂

CLARIFICATION:   The picture I posted this was the best one I found for German Potato Salad, but it doesn’t even come close to Mom’s.   Hers was an off-white color and not brown; her onions were diced really fine along with green pepper, bacon, and a tiny bit of pimento, also diced fine.  By the way, if you are wondering what it tastes like – it has a sweet-sour finish to it.  I’ll give the recipe upon request if interested.

I believe the moral of both these stories, for me, was that I can let people notice my skills if the opportunity presents itself – I don’t have to notify people that I have them.  Stop bragging, Debb!   And YOU, dear readers – don’t let your pride make you fall like mine did.  🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

7 thoughts on “German Potato Salad

  1. Cute story, and you are correct, we should not be bragging about our skills–let others notice them, or not!

  2. I have a feeling that your mom and me would have been good candidates to be featured on the I Love Lucy show! 🙂 Like Pat said, it’s how we learn. I’ll see if I post my recipe on the blog in the near future…

  3. This reminds me of a story my mother told me. When she was a newlywed, she was baking a cake for some occasion – I think her in-laws were coming over. Instead of adding a cup of flour, she added a cup of salt. She laughs now, but didn’t then! I love your story and, yes, I would like your recipe!

  4. I know how you feel. A few times I have tried a recipe for the first time when company is coming. Not a good idea. Oh well, that’s how we learn!!!

  5. Pingback: A Father Baker Baby = (2/8/28) – (8/28) | Jude The Foodie

~Let me know you were here~

