The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

I Hope You….Love Yourself

2 Comments

three amigos (amigas?)

three amigos (amigas?) (Photo credit: harmonicagoldfish)

“How can anyone ever love you for who you are,

if you become someone else to be with them?”

–Stephen C. Paul,

Author of:  Illuminations: Visions for Change, Growth and Self-Acceptance

It seems like there are a lot of fakes out there, people who don’t think they’re good enough as they are.   I like this book because it confronts that issue and encourages us to be ourselves.

I had to learn that it’s alright to be Debb.  (I’m the only one that can be her, so why not accept it, right?)   In fact, it’s the only way I can be.   When I tried to be something other people wanted me to be, it never worked out well.   I always felt invisible and like I didn’t matter.   Actually, when people didn’t like me, they weren’t liking the impostor I had become.  Debb was invisible because she was portraying some other person.

So, I accepted that I am silly at times and sing a lot and am a morning person who bothers people with her cheerfulness when it’s too early.  Now I celebrate that I have a very good memory and remember phone numbers and birthdays of people from my childhood.   (Weird, huh?)

Are there things about yourself that you don’t like?  Well, I encourage you today to “seize the day” and know that you are loveable just the way you are.  After all, “God doesn’t make junk”!!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “I Hope You….Love Yourself

  1. I have to admit, something I’ve struggled with is feeling rather dumb because I am horrible at with math–it’s like a mental block. The thing is, I have a new job where I must do some quick math thinking and wow is it tough, but I’m improving. It’s only been in the past few years that I’ve decided it’s fine that I’m math challenged, it’s just who I am and it doesn’t make me any less of a person. It’s easier to accept and admit my inabilities rather than struggle to hide them. (I also think more self-acceptance comes with advancing years!)

    • I’m so glad you have come to accept your clash with math, because it’s acceptance of your whole person that provides benefits. And I agree – self-acceptance does come with time – maybe because it takes time to go through life and have learning experiences?

      I smiled at your comment, because since 4th grade, up until college, I believed I was stupid in math. That was thanks to my school teacher who said I was DUMB in front of everyone, just because I had a little difficulty with long division!!!!!! But when I got to college and took a Business Math class, I aced my tests and surprised myself. It all goes to show that we need to be careful about accepting everything that people say about us. Some of it is not true, like I found out, but it degraded me so painfully until I learned the truth.

      Congratulations on your new job, and it’s so nice that you can see your improvement with the math part. You were hired there because they believed you have abilities, and I don’t doubt it for a second either.

      Thanks so much for reading my blog. It’s been nice chatting with you! Debb

~Let me know you were here~

