The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Seasons

2 Comments

Canadian goldenrod

Canadian goldenrod (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Summer Garden

Summer Garden (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.”

— Ecclesiastes 3:1

I love the seasons here in the Midwest – usually – and even when hay fever  and allergies start in August and you wonder how can the goldenrod be so beautiful if it causes such misery, I am glad to be in a place where the landscape changes periodically.  It’s kind of like life – sometimes predictable but there is always room for surprises.

The seasons of life vary for each person but basically run like this:

Childhood:  when you learn so much and the whole world (and life) is before you.

Teenage:  when there is angst among the fun, when questions are asked that may not always get answered.

Adult:  Career and being an adult and having to make mature decisions sets in.  Families are started (or not).  Sometimes people refer to things in their past as “BD” or “AD” – before divorce or after divorce.  And some have an idyllic life (or at least it seems this way).  Grief sets in at some point or another.  Sometimes there is so much joy in a heart that a person doesn’t know what to do with it.  🙂  What is universal to us all is the fact that life doesn’t really stand still, and changes happen.  It’s encouraging to know that even if something is terrible or unpleasant to go through, things will get better again.

August full moon

August full moon (Photo credit: Stelios Kiousis)

You’ve probably heard the saying that goes something like this:  “some friends are here for a season, some for a reason, and some are for always.”  I think this is so true.  It can even apply to my blog – I may have readers who stick with me till the last day I write, some who come for help in a particular area and leave when that need is met, and some for just a time.  Whatever you are here for, and however long you stay with me, is fine.  I do want you to know, though, that I already liken you to people whom I want with me for all time.  I love you all, and I hope I can be a good friend to you.Snow across the midwestern United States

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “The Seasons

  1. This is beautiful.

~Let me know you were here~

