The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

For the Young at Heart: A Bedtime Story!

3 Comments

English: Kelley-Bland-Ward House, County Road ...

English: Kelley-Bland-Ward House, County Road 2 (Cahaba Road, near intersection with Dallas County Road 123) vicinity, Orrville, Dallas, AL. FIREPLACE AND MANTEL (LIVING ROOM). Built in 1855 and demolished in 1945. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello again –

I was writing a new poem in my head today but then it changed into a story.  I will publish it in parts so you don’t get bogged down.  🙂

Where Did The Sunshine and Music go?

-by Debbie Loesel Stanton*

When there was a clunk and a clatter in the living room, the cats Tiger and Micah rushed down the stairs to get to the family room – to safety.  They didn’t like loud noises, especially Micah.  They were used to living in a very quiet, serene household.

When the coast was clear, the cats came back upstairs to the living room.  They wondered what had caused the noise, and then they found her.  “Her” was Raggedy Ann, who normally lived on the shelf in the study.  She had apparently jumped down and was trying to gather the music boxes from the fireplace mantel.  The clunk and clatter came from the music boxes falling to the floor, and the one Debbie bought in Switzerland, the one with the four little wooden legs, lost one of its legs.

raggedy ann

raggedy ann (Photo credit: schmish)

“Raggedy Ann!  What are you doing?!”  exclaimed Tiger, who was the eldest cat in the household.  He had been Debbie’s sentry cat for 12 years, and he thought it was his duty to know all the goings-on in the house.  “Don’t you live in the study?”

“Well, I do, but I wanted to call a meeting, right away, and you guys are invited,” she replied.  “I think Debbie is in trouble!”

“No way is Debbie in trouble,” Micah assured the others.  “I sleep with her every night when I’m not on my household adventures in the middle of the night.  I can hear her heart beating, that’s how close I sleep to her, and I would know if anything was wrong with her.”

“But I think even you are missing something,” Raggedy Ann protested.  “Lately whenever she comes into the study to work on her writing, she seems different.  Like she has gossamer angel wings and gauzy stuff over her. “

“But that’s good,” said the cats, “because she loves to write.  We don’t know if writing every day helps her to feel good, or feeling good helps her to write every day, but this is something she’s always dreamed of.  Why is this a bad thing?”

“Because Debbie doesn’t seem quite right.  She seems like she’s slowed down or something, and she’s not singing lately.  It’s like the sunshine has left!” Raggedy Ann volunteered.

So everyone got settled in for the meeting.  Micah jumped to his place on top of the loveseat.  Tiger sat on the loveseat, Raggedy Ann sat on the ottoman in front of it, and some of the music box collection sat in a row on the floor where Raggedy Ann had placed them.

Next up:  the household figures out what to do for Debbie.

*This piece of writing is not in the public domain.  Please contact author for permissions.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “For the Young at Heart: A Bedtime Story!

  1. Lovely story – The title is GREAT! “Where Did The Sunshine and Music go? I wonder! Thanks so much for sharing and I really appreciate you stopping by My Journal of Praise and liking posts. God Bless. Happy Writing!

~Let me know you were here~

