The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Happy Place

5 Comments

Nymphaeaceae

Nymphaeaceae (Photo credit: Sky Noir)

I’m sure you’ve heard of people going to their “happy place” in their head.  They think of their favorite place, and it transports them into temporary bliss.

You can close your eyes and go to your happy place when you’re waiting in the doctor’s office (and if you can ignore the screaming kids around you in the waiting room) and you don’t have something with you to read or write.

I now have two happy places; I will tell you how I found my second one.

I was having a facial done at the spa where I saw the lovely jewel mentioned in my post the other day.

The garment they had me put on was a baby-doll-pajama type, short towel thing. Wearing that, it’s not like I could get out of there fast if I had to.  No, I had to relax (which was the purpose of my splurge) and lie still.

For other facials and massages, I have never gotten bored.  I truly was in the moment enjoying my muscles getting loosened up.

This facial was different, however.  I didn’t feel like doing some writing in my head.  Yes, the facial was nice.  But, I couldn’t stay in the moment for some reason.

So, I decided to really pay attention to the soft music.  Pretty soon I had a whole scene going on in my mind, using every single sound I heard in the nature CD.  Welcome to my happy place:

There was a large pond at the edge of a farmyard.   I heard ducks and geese in the pond and chickens near their coop.  I heard a bumblebee land on a lily pad in the water.  I heard birds singing in the trees surrounding the pond, with the occasional sqwawk thrown in for good measure.  Ahh, it was blissful!

“Debbie!”  My facial person woke me up out of my reverie.

“What?!” I asked, surprised and alarmed.

“You’ve got to stop smiling!  The natural mud pack I put on your face is cracking.  You can’t move your face muscles!”

Haha!  So my happy place got me into trouble.  I smile often, so I never dreamt I would be told NOT to smile.  Even so, I was glad to know that my happy place had indeed come to my rescue when I was bored.   🙂

 

English: A Facial mask. Português: Uma Máscara...

Label side of a Compact Disc with corrosion on... Label side of a Compact Disc with corrosion on the back side (Depeche Mode – Condemnation, CD Bong 23, INT 826.765, Release year 1993) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

P.S.   I made it out of the mud pack in one piece.  The cracks did not cause my skin to fall off.  Nope, it is nice and smooth.  🙂

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

5 thoughts on “Happy Place

  1. The joke at our house is that Walgreens is my happy place. All comes from a week in Orlando. Our rented condo was a block from Walgreens. When we need something (laundry detergent, band-aid, more bread, etc.) I’d walk to Walgreens and get it. I never got too much because you don’t want to fly home with left over groceries/household items in your luggage. So it seems I went there so much that Mike & Aaron decided if Orlando was the ‘happiest place on earth’ as the ads said then my happy place in Orlando must be Walgreens! So now whenever we needs something from a drug store it’s going to my happy place.

    • Ooh, I like that! You put a smile on my face for the start to a great day! 🙂

      • Well stop by my happy place for a soda or some aspirin…

      • Be careful Mary, what you invite (or who you invite!). I really would like to visit you and your family and pets and garden, seriously! And I do for sure want to thank you for following my blog and being such a faithful reader and liker. 🙂 You make my day! You’re like a modern-day penpal – remember having a penpal years ago?

      • LOL you can go to Walgreens (my happy place) and get soda any day!

        I enjoy reading blogs and seeing what other people create. I don’t belong to everything (pintrest, facebook, linkedin, etc) because I want to participate in what I do belong to and enjoy it. Mainly my focus is here, G+, Flickr, and Twitter. That’s MORE than enough. I don’t do much at Flickr except upload photos and share Creative Commons license. I know there is more there just don’t have the time.

~Let me know you were here~

