The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

To My One and Only

Leave a comment

Love for Arts

Love for Arts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

To My One and Only

~ dedicated to D ~

To the man who likes to rhyme,

I’ll say it again yet one more time:

I love you and will love you longer than days are long

Into my life you’ve brought sunshine and into my heart a song.

We do what we have to do

But this can leave us feeling blue.

I work here,

and you have to work there.

But soon will come the end to despair,

when once again you can come home

months no longer having to roam.

Soon I can again take your name,

but right now life without you here is not the same.

I’m seeing things through a rose-colored haze

I am happy but yet in a daze as I am in the alone phase.

Please bring back those sunshiny rays.

We talk on the phone every night

Thank goodness we never fight.

I’m trying hard to be strong with all my might,

I am not thankful for your absence as I am for my sight.

Your favorite coffee cups hang under my cupboard, they wait for you there,

without you this lovely house seems bare.

The cats are crying for you,

I tell them they have to wait for Daddy, it’s the right thing to do.

My God, I’ve loved you forever;

to be a good wife to you I will always endeavor.

I pray that you can find work again here

that’s close to me, close to us and very near.

Even though gone is my one and only

because of your love I am never lonely.

Come back soon so I can see you face to face,

because with our love God has given us grace.

— Debbie Loesel Stanton

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

