The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

My Yoga Saturday

2 Comments

English: Vrksasana, the tree position, a Yoga ...

English: Vrksasana, the tree position, a Yoga posture. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Besides “honesty is the best policy”, laughter comes in as a strong second.

I began to fully live the day that I first laughed at myself.

Today I laughed when I attempted yoga for the first time.  I loved it even though the space in my bedroom that I’ve allotted for it is kind of narrow.   Most of this Rodney Yee CD yoga practice was in a sitting or lying position, and when I was lying on my mat I couldn’t fully extend my arms to either side because cats were in the way!  Tiger on my left got surprised when all of a sudden my left hand ended up at the place that unbeknownst to me he was lying.  Micah on my right gravitated toward my hand for a neck rub, because that is what he is used to doing.

Both cats were purring at the same time but definitely had different purrs.  I think they like yoga!  But next time I want to remember to cast my fan club out of the bedroom and shut the door.  Then I can concentrate and hear Rodney better!

I was really pleased with Rodney’s CD.  I only had to pause him twice, once to get my yoga strap and once to get a blanket for one of the poses.  I happened to do the a.m. yoga segment, and it was so relaxing.  I wonder if I can do it on a weekday when getting ready for work, without falling back to sleep?!

I found my muscles to be really tight, especially the hamstrings (no surprise here), but it felt so good to stretch.  Yoga seems to be coming into my life…yesterday at work my boss showed me how to do a tree pose.  The object was to place one foot at the bottom of the opposite leg, slowly slide the foot up along the leg, and raise your arms out to the side and up to the sky.  I immediately raised my foot as far as I could on the leg, put up my arms, and didn’t fall over.  “Debb!  You’re already doing it!” my boss said.  And to me, I was just doing a graceful stretch that until yesterday didn’t know that this pose had a name.

Yoga practitioners:  do you have any advice or comments about my new adventure, what to do or what to expect?  Thanks!

 

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “My Yoga Saturday

  1. I have been thinking about trying yoga it is one exercise I have not done, so it was nice to read your view. Are you taking a class or following a DVD?

    • I bought a beginning yoga kit at Target that is put out by the company Gaiam. It included a mat, CD, yoga (foam) block, and strap. The CD has two features on it; I am only doing the first one so far. Oh yeah – someone told me that you can’t automatically stretch as far as the teachers on CD can, but just start with where you are and gradually you can stretch farther. That is what I like – not having to do exactly as the masters do – I wish my other exercise CDs had told me that! It feels so good when you’re done – thanks for asking. Have a great day! 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

