The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Talk to the Animals

Leave a comment

Non-pet owners may think the rest of us are crazy when we talk to our pets, but I think it’s good for us and for our pets.  Statistics show how pets, especially dogs and cats, can lower our blood pressure and lessen our chances of getting depressed.   

It is quite a routine in the Stanton household when I leave for work each morning.  I give the same speech, day after day, to each of my two cats.  I try to talk to them one on one and look into their eyes, and they look into mine.  On days when I’m in a hurry, I go bounding down the stairs on the way to the garage and call out my speech to both cats:

“Okay, boys, Mama has to go to work now.  Make sure you’re good boys today and be nice to the other kitty.  I want you to have a good day and know that Mama loves you.”  I smile when I think of how I’m always talking to them as if they’re children (that I didn’t get to have).  I think Tiger and Micah look forward to that little speech, because when the garage door opens right after I have given them my farewell speech, they know that they can now begin their hard work of the day – a nice snooze on their favorite places.  Lately they end up in my home office where they spend all their time with me when I am home.  It’s almost like they are place cards, holding my place till I get back to my blogs!

I also talk to wild animals and birds outside my home (in my neighborhood, besides the numerous squirrels, we have a band of wild turkeys).  I guess I figure that since they’re there, why not be kind and talk to them?  (But I’m sure they wish for the opposite.)

 

And of course, I don’t want to forget our animal friends at the zoo.  Their majesty and beauty are really something else.

My “Queen of SSS”story last week tells that I used to pet the insects that got into our sunroom, simply because I felt bad for them because they were hated by my mother.   I was sensitive even back then, I guess.

I grew up with wonderful dogs and now have cats.  My favorite wild animals are the Big Cats – which animals do you really like?

   

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

