The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Blueprints

3 Comments

Blueprint of design Heilig Hartkerk, Eindhoven...

Blueprint of design Heilig Hartkerk, Eindhoven, Netherlands (modified by me) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Remember the paper that blueprints were printed on?  They always intrigued me because here was something put on slippery, weird blue paper…Houses must have been on my mind a lot, because I remember discovering at the tender age of seven which my two favorite house styles were:    Colonial and Salt Box.  Then, I discovered my mother’s “Better Homes and Gardens” and “House Beautiful”, and I loved poring over the house plans they always had in the back of the magazines.  Kinda strange for a kid…who couldn’t draw (and still can’t) to save her life and never even thought of becoming an architect.  My parents weren’t gifted with drawing ability, either, so it’s hard to tell where my love of architecture came from.  I still love to explore different neighborhoods and see if I can name the different styles.Life is a little bit like that.   We don’t always know why we do things or love certain people or things, but we just simply do.    I believe God is a great Master Architect…he does have a plan for each person on earth, but it is one that constantly changes because we humans change, and we are able to make our own choices.  So when we choose the wrong path and mess up, for example, and we get the blueprints all smeared up with our wayward peanut butter and jelly, God is able to revise the master plan.  He knows our weaknesses and strengths, so he helps us build our lives accordingly.  He would never install a fireplace without a chimney or put luxurious carpeting in the garage, because he knows what will work and what won’t.  Likewise, things he plans for us (blessings AND tests to help us grow strong) are thought through and not just thrown at us.

And now, my friend, you have just witnessed the closest thing I will ever get to a sermon on my blogs.   And that’s just fine.   My intent is never to preach, but in this case, I just found things interesting…

May the blueprint of your life remain interesting and flexible, with stains and rips and too much ink kept to a minimum.   🙂

Debb

 

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “Blueprints

  1. Pingback: A BLUEPRINT FOR SUCCESS! « "Working for Christ"

  2. I’ve never had the chance to look at architectural plans, although I am sure they are just as fascinating, but the buildings which result often catch my breath and find a place in my heart. I’ve spent hours wandering through old cities – London, Paris, Strasbourg, Berlin, Bremen, Celle – just looking at the wonders constructed out of wood and bricks and wondering what it must have been like to live in those houses when they were first built. Where my interest in architecture comes from, I don’t know either, perhaps it’s linked to my interest in photography. There is something strange and special in all of us, we just need to find it and bring it out.

~Let me know you were here~

