The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Cancer Survivor Warrior: A Poem

6 Comments

English: pink ribbon

English: pink ribbon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I will use the pronoun “she” in this poem, even though yes, some men do get breast cancer, and I don’t forget that many men suffer many different kinds of cancer too…The Cancer Survivor Warrior

There she is in the grocery store

looking tired and weak.

She is certainly these things

but her badge of honor is not worn on the outside.

She is much stronger in her character now

Much stronger than she’d ever guess herself to be.

She has been through so much

and probably still forces herself to keep going to her paid job.

 

There is another cancer survivor in the post office.

Unless she is bald,

you would never know she has cancer.

She goes about her normal every-day duties

even though she  has a membership in “the club”.

The cancer survivors club was not something

she ever chose to join,

it just found her as she won an unseen lottery

that wasn’t necessarily genetically based

or inherited.

 

The lottery “prize” for this club is

a sharp wake-up call,

an experience that will teach you things

that you never dreamed you would learn.

The experience changes the warrior’s life

forever, but not in a bad way.

Cancer survivor warriors report that they

receive a new clarity, a new appreciation for life

and their people.

Sometimes membership in the cancer survivors club

leads to a shortened life

and sometimes to a life that has been changed for the better.

 

Whether their lives are cut short or returned to them,

let us remember the warriors in prayer as they fight for their lives.

They need our support more than

advice we are not qualified to give

and our opinions that mean nothing.

 

Hats off to my dear fellow members

of the cancer survivors club.

You are awesome and incredibly strong,

brave and courageous.

You may not feel that you are these things,

but some day you will realize it is these qualities

that helped you through.

 

I pray that the Lord would bless you

with good health, guidance and peace.

I am so proud of you,

I love you, and to you I will

always remain loyal and supportive.

 

— Debbie Loesel Stanton

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

6 thoughts on “The Cancer Survivor Warrior: A Poem

  1. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great info I was looking for this info
    for my mission.

    • You are probably using the same paragraph for all blogs you visit, but know this:

      you’re not sure where I’m getting my information? How about the fact that I lived through it and so I LIVED the information through EXPERIENCE? In the future, please read posts before you say you don’t know where people are getting their information. Better yet, stay away from my blog. Thank you.

  2. Good post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!

  3. Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thank you!

~Let me know you were here~

