The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Very Thick Door

Leave a comment

Sometimes it is very tempting to live in the past.       

Or at least revisit it from time to time.

There is something that can help me to keep living in the present.

I imagine a very, very thick door

such as you would find in an ancient cathedral.

The door is very, very resistant to being opened.

The door handle’s brass is very, very thin and worn.

The door squeaks and shudders on its hinges with a terrible sound.

Once the door is opened, a whirlwind quickly draws you forward.

The door slams behind you with a thud

and you find yourself in an unending ocean

trying to balance on a log.

There is no island or boat near you.

All around you are clear waters that you can look through to the bottom.

There are many views of your past in full sight.

However, you must be careful:

if you try to jump to another log to get a different view,

you find yourself in quagmire that is as terrible

as quicksand.

Very quickly you realize that you are in

The Sea of Forgetfulness.

The bad memories are not in sight,

and the good memories give you comfort.

Until….

Even the good memories become more faint

as you live in the past.

People from your present cannot see or hear you,

and people from the past are likewise unavailable.

You are living in limbo

until you realize that your present life

is calling to you.

Even the good memories start to fade.

You have made peace with your past

before it completely faded from view.

Your present life is looking better and better.

Ah, the relief!

Why isn’t the past as good as we remember it?

Because the present is a different life now.

I quickly decide to get back to my present!

Just as I need her,

an angel shows up to open the big, thick door

with ease.

I am back – I am home.

I am on secure footing once again

and quite relieved to see what makes up my life

right here, right now.

___

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

