The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Three-Part Poem: Part I

1 Comment

highlands

highlands (Photo credit: twicepix)

London Sheep!

“Sunrise in the Highlands”

I.  Guinevere

Sunrise on the backdrop of the Highlands,

how beautiful a place and time,

mellow and calm.

A young lady sits on a hill

watching her beloved sheep graze.

“Guinevere” is the young lass

with curly, blonde hair

who didn’t attract the attention of others.

Her hair color in a sea of redhead

and brunette Scots made her ostracized.

She was glad of this, however,

because spending time outside

with her sheep

was the most important thing to her.

Sunrise brought her excitement

and peace each morning.

A heavy sigh escaped her lips

as she did think about her future.

Would anyone ever care for her,

a common, plain sheepwoman?

The sun rose steadily amongst the clouds

and gifted the hills with a pink hue.

How beautiful, Guinevere said,

As she jumped up to her feet

and raised her arms to the sky.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

One thought on “Three-Part Poem: Part I

  1. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return yet again since i have bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

~Let me know you were here~

