The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

“Sunrise in the Highlands”

II.  Edward

Edward, a man of high estate

and great importance

wasn’t satisfied.

He was sure something was missing

in his privileged life,

but he couldn’t understand how to find

what was missing.

I know! he said very spontaneously.

I will leave my home comforts

and search for my mate.

She will be my princess,

and I will rescue her from

poverty.

So for days and days he walked through the

hills and valleys and dales.

Some nights he didn’t even sleep

but kept on trekking,

with only the light of his lantern for company.

Finally, the darkness started to lift

and he realized the sun would be coming up soon.

I’m sure it will not be as bright as Tiree

where I’m going, said he.

But I need to find my love.

Suddenly he slumped to the ground.

The many miles of foot travel,

his water and food supply exhausted,

held him from going on.

He finally paused to look at the beautiful, lush green landscape.

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

