The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

To Laugh At Yourself…

2 Comments

Laughter...

laughter

laughter (Photo credit: withrow)

…is one of the greatest things you can do for yourself.

It can lighten your mood and remind yourself that you don’t have to be perfect.

In fact, you can’t be.

The silly things we do sometimes can be a source of laughter –

and if we can laugh at ourselves, it’s easier to take when others laugh at us.

Sometimes it can take years to achieve the ability to laugh at yourself.

My example comes from my three-or-four-year-old self.

I wanted to take my first dolly on a wagon ride.

She had blonde curly hair and was my pride and joy.

The wagon was brand new, and I attempted to drive the wagon all by myself

down a tall hill.

Apparently at such a young age, it is hard to know how to make a wagon go left or right.

At the bottom Dolly and I wiped out.

I’m sure I got scraped up pretty badly, but Dolly’s fate was worse.

The tar that patched the road had some liquid bubbles that kids like to pop in the hot summer.

These tar bubbles ruined Dolly’s hair with their stickiness at the site of the wagon’s overturn

and made her look like the Creature From The Black Lagoon.

Mom threw Dolly away.

She didn’t know that I always befriended the ugly dolls that other girls didn’t want.

I also petted the box elder bugs that got in our house, because I felt sorry for them

since they were hated by my mother.

I’m sure that if I had found a stray animal back then, I would have campaigned to keep it!

Now I can laugh at little Debbie’s “doll tragedy”, but I sure wasn’t laughing then.

Nowadays, my imagination comes in handy.

I see things in a different sort of way, and I crack myself up.

So…if sometimes I appear to be a little goofy,

your estimation is quite correct,

but I am glad I can laugh.

Have you had your laugh today?

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “To Laugh At Yourself…

  1. I remember thinking box elder bugs were pretty neat when I was a kid, and my Mom not liking them in the house. Thanks for reminding me.

~Let me know you were here~

