The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

A Poetic Ballad

Leave a comment

THE SEASON OF RACC’S DISCONTENT

Racc was a raccoon who lived in the woods with his family.

He got tired of the life he was living and thought he could and should do better.

So he set off one night without saying goodbye to his family.

 

“Why content can you not be?” a Voice said.

Does not the Creator know how to create?

All of nature, hear My Voice.”

 

Racc traveled many days and could not find one single body of water, and he was getting tired of berries and earthworms.

Finally he happened upon a farm with chickens, cows and goats, and he knew he would find eggs there.

He slept during the day in the hay mow.

 

One afternoon he woke to find two cats staring at him, and they meowed.

Tab, the orange tabby and Fussy, the calico were sure beautiful.

Why can’t I have nice stripes on my tail and front legs like Tab, he wondered.

 

“Why content can you not be?

Does not the Creator know how to create?

All of nature, hear My Voice.”

 

One night in the moonlight, Racc followed the cats to the chicken coop.

The cats gracefully lept to the top of the fence and gently dropped down to the ground near the coop.

Racc began to follow their lead…

 

Once on top of the fence, Racc fell face-down in the mud.

Embarrassed, he left the farm immediately.

He traveled another several days until he saw a clear, sparkling river.

 

Racc thought he had washed the dried mud off his face, but alas, his reflection showed otherwise.

The mask covering his eyes was not mud, but brownish-black hair.

When he took a bath in the river later, he even discovered that now his tail had stripes like Tab’s!

 

“Why content can you not be?

Does not the Creator know how to create?

All of nature, hear My Voice.”

 

“But Voice,” Racc questioned.

How come I have a mask and stripes on my tail now?

My tail is wonderful, but I don’t deserve to wear a mask on my face.”

 

“Why content can you not be?

Does not the Creator know how to create?

All of nature, hear My Voice.”

Voice went on, “You’ve not been happy with anything lately.

I decided to grace you with rings on your tail since you admired Tab’s.

But the mask – – that, I’m afraid, is proof that you had a season of discontent.

From now on, other animals and people will see you and know what you did.

You didn’t appreciate your life and what you were given, so you ran away.

You stole food from the chickens and did not lead an honest life.

The mask will let people know they shouldn’t trust you.

 

Racc lived out the rest of his days constantly on the move.

He was not trusted, so he didn’t trust anyone either.

He even began to show up in cities where he could knock over garbage cans.

 

“Why content can you not be?

Does not the Creator know how to create?

All of nature, hear his Voice,” Racc tries to warn others.

 

–Debbie Loesel Stanton

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

