The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Of Raccoons and Turkeys – Oh My!

Leave a comment

English: A Common Raccoon (Procyon lotor) seen...

English: A Common Raccoon (Procyon lotor) . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Eastern Wild Turkey

English: Eastern Wild Turkey (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Close-up of a front paw of the raccoo...

English: Close-up of a front paw of the raccoon Molly. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This Thanksgiving was quite a bit different than past holidays.

We went out to eat at 11 a.m.  This left us several hours to relax afterwards and with the ability to not be dressed up all day.

It was my first Thanksgiving that I wrote for several hours as part of my festivities.  Sweet!

It was also a time of weather change in my Midwestern suburb.

I wore no sweater or jacket to the restaurant; there was a high of 60 degrees.  Within a couple of hours it was very cold and windy, and my thin jacket (with no hat or gloves) was not warm enough at all.  Likewise, I decided to make my walk short, so I used the city trail that veered off into a “wetlands barrier” area, a marshy place at the center of the new housing development of what I call “mansions”.

Yay, a wooden walkway had been placed at the edge of the marsh, and it led to the street at the top of the wetlands.   I am so glad this has been installed!  I bent over and picked up several large, barren tree branches that had been torn off of their home and landed on the walkway.  Once I threw them back into the marsh, I noticed very curious things…

At one end, near the street above, were large raccoon prints – right on the wood of the pathway.  In other words, this raccoon must have walked right through wet blacktop that hadn’t cured yet, thereby leaving imprints on the wood he then walked on.   A little way down from where the raccoon (possibly “Racc” from my story the other day?) tracks were, I found turkey prints.  Then, at the opposite end of the “bridge”,  I saw baby raccoon prints – just going across the walkway and not on it for very long as the big raccoon and turkey had.  These prints were very cute, tiny little “hands”, but with no claws as the bigger raccoon prints featured.

I have no camera, but I sure wish some of my WordPress friends, the great photographers, had been with me!

This bit of nature made my day.  I hope your Thanksgiving Day was lovely, too!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

