The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

I Have a Confession to Make

2 Comments

I must say, I take vegetables for granted.

I see that they’re colorful (and thus meaning they pack a lot of different vitamins within the vegetable family), easy to cook, and even taste good.   I know that they’re good for my health, especially as a cancer survivor.

So why do I not eat more of them?

Because I figured since I had had good chemotherapy for my cancer and even had some preventative treatment, I didn’t have to “overdose” on getting my vitamins in.   I also figured that the “natural” multivitamins I took would do the trick…  free_139512

But alas, it’s very rarely that I remember to take my vitamins in the morning; Zero times have I taken them with supper as directed on the box.  So, THE JIG IS UP for Dear Ol’ Debb.  Now I am asking encouragement from you!

Oh yeah – since I am a visual person, you would think that all my beautiful, full color, WONDERFUL cookbooks would entice me.  Yes – they entice me to “make plans to eat more vegetables” and they even make my mouth water – but alas, that is where the good vibes end.

I’ve always had it as a goal (as yet unreached) to try one new recipe a week.   That didn’t work.  Then I changed the goal to once a month – but that didn’t help either.  When I bought some Williams-Sonoma cookbooks, I thought that would convince me to practice being a gourmet cook.  It didn’t happen!  I’m glad Dave thinks I’m a good cook, but I’d like to improve.   I do have to remember, however, that I’ve been very busy.  I can’t get down on myself for this.

So – since vegetables (and also, their fiber) are so very important for my health, please comment with any suggestions or hints you may have for me.  How did you come to the place where you naturally grab for a vegetable when you are hungry?

Waiting to hear from you, I remain

The Friendly Vegetable Lady.

(using a positive thinking approach here!)

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “I Have a Confession to Make

  1. I have to admit I’m a fan of Nigella Lawson’s first cookbook How To Eat. It’s not your typical cookbook it’s more like a read. It’s written as if you’re have a cuppa with her and talking about how to do favorite recipes. I’ve made many things from there and always get raves from people about them. The other great cookbook I love for veggies is The Meatless Gourmet Favorite Recipes from Around The World by Bobbie Hinman. Don’t be scared I’m not a vegetarian but was looking for ideas of new and fun ways to add veggies and fiber to my diet – this supplied it in abundance. The dry Veggie Broth Mix I use as a shake in seasoner for many things – people love it as gifts when I make a shaker for them. That’s just one goodie from that book.

~Let me know you were here~

