The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Song Titles in a Story

4 Comments

Guess what, folks?  I have written the story below and want to play a game with it…I’d like you to count how many times a song title or words to a song appear within the story.  (Some of the titles, of course, are underlined, but believe me – there are many more!)  Submit your guess to me, and I will let you know the answers the week of December 17th.  The winner will receive a prize from yours truly.  Do not worry, no booby prizes will be given, because those are something I don’t have anymore!  LOL

 

MOLLY AND CLAIRE

The Night Chicago Died

The Night Chicago Died (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Molly was a sensitive girl.  She mourned over the Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald.   She said, “Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue“.   Later on Molly learned how to dance at a disco and a man said, “Good Golly, Miss Molly!” about her dancing skills.   Then, The Night Chicago Died, disco died too, and Molly set about reminiscing for the good ol’ days.  “Those were the days, my friend, we thought they’d never end” was her greeting whenever she saw her former classmates.  “To Everything, Turn, Turn, Turn, There is a Season, Turn, Turn, Turn”, was their reply.Molly confided in her friend, Sweet Caroline, about mourning the loss of disco and how songs nowadays were so negative.  (She was thinking of “Short People” because she herself was not on the tall side.)  “Well,” Sweet Caroline remarked, “Back home, I’m known as The Kentucky Woman, and I guess they think I’m pretty special. . . Maybe I’ll fix you up with my brother.  He will notice your good qualities.”Molly agreed to a blind date unless Sweet Caroline’s brother was Bad, Bad Leroy Brown.  Nope, his name was Sam.   Sam was the Guitar Man for the group Strangers in the Night.    Sam also played the drums and bongos and even knew Soolaimon, the person that the song was written about.

Well, poor Molly had some turbulence in her relationship with Sam.  She told him, “You’ve lost that loving feeling.”  He had said, “I think I love you” to Claire, the tiny dancer.  Oops, he said it to the wrong person!  He was blinded by the light and couldn’t tell that it wasn’t Molly right in front of him.  In turn, when Claire found out about Molly’s existence, she let loose of her dreams with Sam.  She went after the lonesome loser but she still felt guilty about Sam.  Pretty soon she was sighing, “Torn Between Two Lovers, Feeling Like a Fool”.  She ran away, then, to be sitting on the dock of the bay.  You Are So Beautiful, she said quietly to the waves that lapped at her feet hanging over the edge of the dock.

Claire then got her kicks on Route 66 when she hitched a ride to Arizona with The Easy Rider and went to live with the Cherokee People.   She got to be friends with Half-Breed and no longer cared that people had always called her Georgy Girl.    “Oh, what a night” she recalled when she thought about Sam and how he always said “Another Saturday night, and I Ain’t Got No Honey”, even though she was there for him.  But yes, they did have some wonderful times together.  Then after an especially active night, he left for good in the morning, and she said “Just Call Me Angel of the Morning“.  Well, maybe she was being paid back for ruining things for Molly, was her way of reconciling the situation in her mind.  She also went out into the field with some needlepoint project to take her mind off things.  Ouch!  She got poked with the needle and there she had it – crimson and clover.  But, she thought of the good days out west when she rode a horse with no name.  The persuasion she could sense coming from the horse was crystal clear and made her feel blue.   She had never experienced crystal blue persuasion before.

Claire had anticipation bubbling up inside – she would start a new life.  This living in Arizona wasn’t what she had had in mind.  But where could she go?  Indiana wants me, but I can’t go back there, she reasoned. Well, I can always go farther west, Claire decided.

Claire let the horse with no name go free, and she hitchhiked to a small town where she went to a car rental agency.  She rented a little deuce coupe and drove on Ventura Highway for quite a ways before stopping at an old broken down hotel for the night.  In the hotel’s bar she met a man by the name of Pinball Wizard.  She was good at pinball, too, but she decided she didn’t want to have to convince anyone.  Let someone else be the wizard here.

Sunrise.  Claire started to get some radar love vibes.  Were they coming from Sam?  Or someone she hadn’t met yet?  She didn’t know why, but she knew she needed to keep moving on.  Back on Ventura Highway, she then saw it.  Saw what?  The Hotel California.  Good, there’s a vacancy here, it looks roomy enough.  Maybe I can stay awhile.  In fact, I hope I can always live here.

Claire was so happy to be here that she literally danced her way to the entrance and waltzed up to the front desk.  The look the clerk gave her turned her cold and like she wanted to die.

The clerk was Molly.  Payback time!

OK, hurry now, if there is a tie, I will choose the player who turned in their guess first.  Have fun!  Debb

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Song Titles in a Story

  1. Hi Debb– I counted 35, but I probably missed some, so I’ll say 40for my final answer.Fun exercise. Pat

    ________________________________

~Let me know you were here~

