The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Christmas Time Recipes

6 Comments

Meatballs in tomato sauce

Meatballs in tomato sauce (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My friend Jim gave me some “rosemary walnuts” that he made recently.  They were so GOOD; I normally don’t enjoy walnuts, but these didn’t taste like walnuts.  I also think sometimes rosemary is a little too strong for my tastes, but in this case, the rosemary seemed more mellow.   I think these would be good set out in a bowl for guests, now that the holiday season is upon us.

Here’s the recipe:
Thinking of the holidays reminds me of the open houses Dave and I used to put on for Christmas.  His favorite dish was our “New Year’s Eve Meatballs”, so called because a lady my mom knew served these every year at her New Year’s Eve party.  They were a hit with my guests, as well.
NEW YEAR’S EVE MEATBALLS
2 or 3 lb. ground beef
14 oz bottle ketchup
8 oz jar currant jelly (in a pinch, grape jelly will do)*
3 eggs (large is better, especially if you use more beef)
2 envelopes (1 box) onion soup mix
few bread crumbs (from bread slices or commercially prepared bread crumbs)
Mix together ground beef, eggs, onion soup mix and bread crumbs.  Heat together ketchup, pizza sauce and currant jelly*.  Make small walnut-size balls and place on a broiler pan.  Bake 15 minutes at 450.  Add meatballs to sauce and put in a crockpot at 250 or Low for 4 hours.
Let me know if, after making these, you can find a purpose for the leftover sauce in the bottom of the crockpot when the meatballs are devoured.  (and they will be)  All I could ever come up with was heating the sauce and using it as a sort of gravy for potatoes, but there must be a better idea…?
*Currant jelly – why this flavor?  Because these meatballs have a sweet-sour flavor.  The ketchup and pizza sauce contribute the sweetness…

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

6 thoughts on “Christmas Time Recipes

  1. These meaballs sound yummy. How about saving a few meatballs and then putting the meatballs and sauce on a hoagie type bun for a meatball sandwich? The walnuts sound yummy too. I made a copy of both of these recipes for myself.

    ________________________________

~Let me know you were here~

