The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Story: The Wedding Crasher

Leave a comment

Today’s story is ghost written by a wedding crasher of mine – uh….use your imagination.   🙂

THE WEDDING CRASHER

— by B. E. Bugg

Last week it suddenly got cold in the Twin Cities, and we had almost a foot of snow.  I had taken refuge in a local church.

I had been taking a very nice nap in front of a sunny side window, when all of a sudden I heard a “click” and saw a bright light.  Ah yes, I’ve seen those human types before.  The ones who want to take pictures of everything.  Well, at least I was in the spotlight for a few minutes, my moment of fame.

Now there’s something you should know about box elder bugs.  Our hearing is very superb.   I heard this man’s conversation when he told an angel (I guess they would call her a bride) on the other side of the church that he managed to see me and so he snapped my picture.

What?  She was delighted?  Ahh, my red and black wings parted when I felt as proud as a peacock.  It turns out, the angel had petted one of my own a long time ago when she was four years old.  She had felt sorry for it because her mother hated us box elder bugs.  AND, the angel’s frother Jim had mentioned that as a child, he even thought we are fascinating bugs.

So here was a lady that didn’t step on my people and exterminate us.  This fact made me so glad, I decided to watch the procedure they call a wedding.

Yes, us box elder bugs do fly a little bit.  I had decided to fly over to one of the guests and sit on his suit coat so I could watch the wedding from right next to the aisle.

My excellent goodness, I had another bright light experience.  Only this time, it was coming from the person walking up the aisle.  This angel, the bride, dazzled me with her smile.  It was so full of joy and not faked.   She looks to be a big person, but her smile was so warm and happy.  Her eyes sparkled, thus making my world all the more bright.  I could’ve used some tiny sunglasses in the sanctuary!

I say the bride was an angel because she looked like one of those things they call a cherub – round but pretty face with rosy skin and whitish-colored curls framing her face, with a pearl tiarra holding a beautiful embroidered veil in place.

Now my life is complete.  If only those big people monsters could be as nice as the bride and not step on us.   If only I could keep on writing like I wrote this story.

Dear Mrs. Bride,  I thank you for allowing me to tell you my story.  I knew that you wouldn’t hurt me, so I got brave and took a flight of faith.  You are welcome to post this story on your blog, so that my story can live on.

Thank you for being so kind-hearted.  But please make sure your ginger tuxedo tabby cat doesn’t eat my relatives when he finds them.

And by the way, sorry I crashed your wedding, but I couldn’t resist.

Best wishes and Love always,

B. E. Bugg477640,1284652459,1

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

