The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Hatless Society, or, Bald is Beautiful

2 Comments

When I was growing back my hair after chemotherapy a couple years ago, I got the inspiration to start a website called “The Hatless Society”, and it would try to provide encouragement to chemo patients that didn’t feel like wearing a hat or wig or scarf. But, I didn’t know what new information I could keep putting on the website, so that idea went the way of the circular file.

But now here on WordPress, I can get my encouragement out there.

I chose to go around with my head not covered when I was bald and even when my hair grew long enough to be a “butch” cut. Many people freaked out, but on the same afternoon at a seminar, one lady chastised me for not wearing a wig, while another lady thanked me for setting an example for her. (I’ve posted about those two women previously.) Thank goodness for understanding people like the second woman.

Some cancer patients need to wear a hat if it’s summertime and they don’t want to get a sunburn on their scalp, or if it’s cold out, or even if it’s to keep their head warm while they sleep. That is just fine.

But, please be aware that people who choose to be bald have many reasons as well.

The important thing is to not resent them for “not following the rules”, and not to pity them or to believe that they just want attention.  At least for this cancer survivor, that is what I could have said at the time.

Going bald, or choosing to be bald, is another of those things that just need to be accepted in a person, to “live and let live”.    Isn’t that what we want others to do for us?

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “The Hatless Society, or, Bald is Beautiful

~Let me know you were here~

