The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poinsettias

Leave a comment

Euphorbia pulcherrima, Poinsettia

Euphorbia pulcherrima, Poinsettia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have not had a poinsettia plant for many years due to their being poisonous to cats.  But this year, there is a huge, triple-bloom poinsettia sitting on the sunny kitchen counter, high above where our cats normally jump to.  It is my favorite, traditional bright red, even though the other colors and “glitterized” varieties that my grocery store has had the last couple years look fun, too.

In former years, I have had a poinsettia last all the way through August.  So this time I am challenging myself:  can I keep it going so that it blooms again next Christmas?  I found an article about just how to do that.  I will try it….if you’re interested, here’s the article:  http://gardening.about.com/od/winterinthegarde

Please be sure and let us know if you’ve had any luck with this or if you decide to take the challenge with me.   🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

