The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Prayer Poem For the new year

4 Comments

The text of an ancient Jewish prayer alongside...

The text of an ancient Jewish prayer alongside a poem by Gustav Gottheil. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dear God,

I look out at the white snow in this below-zero place,

wearing my all-white, terry cloth-lined bathrobe to signify a fresh new slate.

The year is new

but most of my hopes and dreams have been with me forever.

I still want to follow in your footsteps

(you know how my own can falter sometimes)

and at the same time,

learn how to be a better person.

I still want corruption and violence to cease,

mental illness understood and treated,

and your peace to be accepted and taken in by all

and practiced by all.

Let your love light our way

and bring us out of the darkness.

 

The year 2012 was a very good year for me;

I didn’t realize there would ever be a year like that.

I didn’t want 2012 to end for this reason,

but I know that time marches on.

 

Lord, as I march forward in my life

give me clear direction for my new dreams

and while marching to a different drummer

still follow you.

I dedicate 2013 to your glory.

Amen.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Prayer Poem For the new year

  1. Amen! I love your prayers!

~Let me know you were here~

