The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Recipe: “Frieda Punch”

2 Comments

Orange juice

Orange juice (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Whenever I think of a good beverage to drink, I always think of my Aunt Frieda’s punch.  It was sweet with a little bit of a tang, made with fruit juices and ginger ale.  The best thing about it is, you can improvise on this recipe, and I don’t think it could ever be ruined.  It’s so simple it’s easy to memorize the recipe.  🙂

I haven’t had my breakfast yet today, but I’m planning on making Frieda’s punch this morning and having it with breakfast.  🙂  Maybe it should become a new tradition in the Stanton household.

Aunt Frieda’s Punch:

1 large can pineapple juice

1 large can apricot (or peach) nectar

1 large can orange juice

lesser quantity of ginger ale

For a party, a big bowl or kettle for serving it in is great.  For a smaller quantity, such as what would fit into a pitcher, just cut the quantity of each ingredient.

I would not advise ice be poured into the punch bowl or pitcher, since dilution can occur.  Rather, keep a supply of ice on hand for your guests so that they can put whatever quantity of ice they want into their own glass.

Vernor’s ginger ale, from Michigan, is in my opinion the best brand by far.  However, it’s not always available in Minnesota, so the other ginger ale brands step up to the plate.

I have used this recipe for our parties and open houses, and I seem to recall it was served at my graduation open house.  (If you’re looking for a red punch to serve on a holiday, this is not the one!)

Here’s drinking healthfully to a great new year!

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: “Frieda Punch”

  1. Sounds delicious! Happy New Year!

~Let me know you were here~

