The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Peppermint Snow Debt Bureau

3 Comments

The other day on my day off, I walked between my bank and a restaurant to go to lunch, instead of driving from the bank parking lot to the restaurant parking lot right next door.  Good for exercise, and good for using less gas, I said to myself.

Walking on the sidewalk gave me a chance to look at the snow on either side of it.   On a beautifully sunny, cold day, the snow looked like it had sparkles in it.  A nice little pleasured added to my day!

When I was a little girl, I called this kind of snow “peppermint snow”.  Then as I got older, I again used that name, but for something else.

I wanted to keep track of how much money I owed my folks or how much they or my sister owed me (and when I first got out of college, they would come running to me for loans – ha!).   I didn’t receive allowances, so I guess I wanted to make sure I could get everything that was owed to me.  🙂

I came up with the name “Peppermint Snow Debt Bureau” and wrote that at the bottom of a note I’d give to my folks, stating how much they owed me.  Or, if I owed them (which wasn’t often), I kept track in my little Peppermint Snow Debt Bureau notebook.  And now to this day, I don’t believe in being in debt unless it’s for a mortgage.  But, I’ve changed in another matter too – if I loan people money, I consider it a gift and don’t tally up what I am owed.  I love to surprise people with gifts…charitable agencies are always glad to find out about me…

And now, all grown up, I don’t chintz on myself anymore, but I do wish I could save more money like I did when I was little.

What remains a constant here in the Midwest?  Every once in awhile, peppermint snow.  It still charms me like before.

 

English: A train blocked by snowdrifts in Sout...

English: A train blocked by snowdrifts in Southern Minnesota, USA, 1881. Deutsch: ein Zug hat sich im Schnee festgefahren, südlicher Teil Minnesotas, USA, 1881. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Snow Debt Bureau

  1. The train so reminds me of Jesse and his love for trains.

~Let me know you were here~

