The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Daily Prompt: Quote Me

Leave a comment

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

My favorite quote is something I came up with just today as I came out of having a massage at the spa.   I felt so good and relaxed and happy, that all the way to the grocery store and then back home, I kept running it over and over in my mind.

The phrases that linked themselves together made these sentences:

You can’t improve yourself unless you’re good to yourself.  And you can’t be good to yourself unless you love yourself.

Most of my readers know that I like to redo or rework the negatives…I framed my phrases in a positive way, and here is the quote I came up with:

“When you love yourself, you end up doing things that are good for yourself.  When you are good to yourself, it’s easy to improve yourself.”

This quote moves me because I have finally figured out what would help me with my quest to improve myself.   Loving myself the last couple of years makes it possible to improve myself without going all militant and perfectionistic.

seagull.jpg

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

