The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Surprise Recipe!

Leave a comment

Lima Beans

Lima Beans (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi folks,

Hope you don’t mind another recipe…the vegetables I tried for our Sunday dinner last weekend were – actually excellent!  And made with lima beans, yet!   I frankly could not taste the lima beans, but a pleasant celery flavor was present.  AND, mushrooms, onions and pimentos were included too; usually I don’t eat mushrooms, but I was pleasantly surprised.  We had this dish with Dave’s favorite meat loaf recipe (the one I’ve shared with you earlier) and mashed potatoes.

LIMA BEAN CASSEROLE

2 small onions, thinly sliced

3-10 oz pkg frozen baby lima beans, thawed (or in my case, I used 2-16 oz bags)

2 cans cream of celery soup

2-4 oz cans  sliced mushrooms (undrained)

1-2 oz jar pimentos, chopped and drained (I did not chop them, they are small enough, in my estimation)

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon dill weed

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 t pepper (I did not add this so close on the heels of Hoppin’ John)

For crockpot:

Combine all ingredients except heavy cream and Parmesan cheese in crockpot; stir well.  Cover and cook on low setting for 10-12 hours.  Just before serving, add cream and stir well; sprinkle Parmsean cheese on top.

For casserole:

Assemble ingredients in casserole and bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour.

Notes from the cook:

*  I baked the ingredients in a casserole.

*  The recipe wasn’t clear if you’re supposed to add the cream and Parmesan cheese to the dish right before serving, or if you combine EVERYTHING together before baking.   Dave didn’t want the cream and cheese thrown in there, so we didn’t include it in baking AND we didn’t add it to the finished product either.  We found that the dish was very tasty as is.

*   I think this was too salty, so next time I think I would have at least one of the cans of soup as being of the lower salt variety, and I might decrease the salt to 1 tsp.

*  This would be a good dish to serve at Christmas, as the green and red colors are both represented.

*   I am now a fan of lima beans.  Good for my vegetable intake!

*  Anyone care to cook this in a crockpot and report back?

Love,

“Mrs. Loaf”

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

