The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

5 Comments

English: the picture consist of articles on bu...

English: the picture consist of articles on bullying, I obtained it from public domain. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

For my 4th grade year my parents gave me the choice of:  did I want to continue at my parochial school or go to the public school very close to our new house?  My mom thought I would then be able to make more friends in my new neighborhood.

I chose the public school and wished I hadn’t.   The kids were stuck-up because we lived in an affluent neighborhood.  However, my family was  cash-poor and I ended up wearing old clothes that were never in style.  And,  because I was chubby, the kids called me names all the time, and “dear” Miss Martin NEVER told them to stop.

But nobody was as bad as my teacher herself, Miss Martin.

I was in the top level reading group in my class but in the lowest one in math.  I wasn’t dumb, but I just didn’t get long division on first try.  Miss Martin in exasperation said to the whole class, “Debbie, you’re so dumb!  Why can’t you get this?”  Even I knew as a kid, a teacher should never say that to someone – much less, to an audience.

Congratulations Miss Martin, you had a perfect score for Bully of the Year.

My mother never knew about this occurrence, simply because I was so ashamed of myself – because I believed Miss Martin’s words.  I figured she was older, she must know all the facts.  So I never told anyone till years later.

Miss Martin impacted me in a negative way.  For most of my life after that, then, I believed I was stupid.  No one really took the time to tell me that I was bright and creative and funny – so I didn’t know.

The upside of this is I found out I do have a functioning brain – and my husband is willing to teach me algebra – if only I make the time.  🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

  1. Loved it, Tom! Thanks! I’ve reblogged it so that it can reach even more people.

  2. Great post, Debb. Rather than put the whole story here, there’s one teacher who greatly influenced me. He passed away last year, and I wrote a short piece about his impact on my thinking. I hope you don’t mind me putting the link here: http://readtomlucas.com/2012/07/24/some-words-can-last-a-lifetime/

~Let me know you were here~

