The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Christmas in July

Leave a comment

Christmas Tree (1)

Christmas Tree (1) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Our Christmas tree is still up, and I don’t have plans of taking it down anytime soon.  I am fortunate it is a tall, good-looking artificial tree!    With the month of December being a blur with my wedding and Christmas, and doing more writing lately, I just haven’t had time to enjoy the lit tree as I normally do.  So, I will leave it up a little while longer.

It wouldn’t be the first time our tree was up for a long time – one year my mom got deathly ill in January, before our tree was taken down, and I had to fly out of state to take care of her for three weeks.  Then, she died the following month so it was another trip back to Michigan.  That year, the Christmas tree came down in March, I believe.

I’ve even entertained the idea of leaving it up all year – replacing Christmas-y looking ornaments with plain colored ornaments representing the holidays – red for Valentine’s Day, green for St. Patrick’s Day, spring colors for Easter, etc.  But even that is a bit beyond my comfort level.

One time, my pastor at my home church had a sermon on “Christmas in July”, indicating that the Christmas message and joy is for all year long.  We sang Christmas carols at that service.  My leaving the Christmas tree up now would be a slight take on that theme.  But really, Debb?

I’d be interested to find out what is the longest time you have ever left up your Christmas tree in the new year.  Please comment.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

