The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Metaphor Maven

Leave a comment

I’ve been calling myself a metaphor maven lately

because I love to use metaphors (hot chocolate is like a liquid Hershey bar)

and like to find the deeper meaning or symbolism of things.

To my surprise,

I had the wrong definition.

Instead of ” a person who really adores something”,

the dictionary meaning is:  : one who is experienced or knowledgeable : expert. 

I guess I am more of a metaphor fan

than a maven;

I am knowledgeable about metaphors and love to use them

but I am no expert.

Isn’t life like that sometimes?

You think something means something

and then come to find out it doesn’t?

Are you a maven or a fan of something?  If so, what is the object?

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

