The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

My Most Embarrassing Caper!

Leave a comment

When I was a  church secretary and the elderly ladies’ group invited the Pastor and I to their meeting for lunch, (back then I was always trying to be perfect) you can be sure I had an incident to test my patience (or need to be perfect?).

I think it was a Valentine’s Day luncheon or something, because there was a punch bowl with red liquid in it.

As a dutiful secretary and lover of the elderly, I volunteered to fill up a plate for Grandma Mary and also bring her some punch.

There was a very narrow walkway between the tables upon tables that had been set up.  I don’t think a thin person would have had an easier time getting through.  So I walked sideways….carefully…slowly…and Grandma Mary was WAY at the far end of the walkway.  Balance, Debb, you can do this, I said to myself, over and over, until

ALL OF A SUDDEN  a little old lady backed her chair up with surprisingly lightning speed.   This surprised me more than the drivers who pull out into traffic without looking — because she backed right up into me.

So how could that be embarrassing, you ask?  Grandma Mary’s punched landed right into the lady’s pure white hair.  It looked like she had a skull cup on, one that was pink in color!  Grandma Mary’s plate of lunch also ended up all over the lady’s dress.  At the time I was in shock, but I have a feeling Grandma Mary’s lunch went into this lady’s  neighbor’s hair too…

And then I can also remember a foreign substance in my hair, too – this was not embarrassing, however, but downright icky!

In San Antonio and also in a Wisconsin lake, the seagulls there decided to oblige me with a little sticky, white gift.   Now in San Antonio, we were on a riverboat cruise so I could not wash it out right away, but in Wisconsin, I immediately washed that —- right outta my hair!  🙂    I guess I should just be glad these incidents didn’t happen when I had no hair.  🙂

Well, I hope this made you laugh.  It makes me smile, even now.

558209_337786999644614_1166310413_n

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

