The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Her Goodbyes

Leave a comment

A female Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardina...

A female Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) on a wooden rail. Photo taken with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50 in Johnston County, North Carolina, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The cardinal mom cries

she’ll have to say her goodbyes

to her little peeps that need her.

It is so cold, here in the north

when sleet, rain, hail and snow

all come at once.

The cardinal family’s legs

are all so spindly

and their feathers pretty thin.

God of the heavens where I fly,

why is it already time to die?

My babies are much too young

to get along without me now

Please help me find a snow-covered little den

where I can house my beloveds.

Keep them safe and warm

when I fly back to You, my Creator.

The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh.

Please give them a good mom

when you take me away from them.

I put myself in your safe, comforting hands.

I’ll see you soon!

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

