The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Scrapbooking, Anyone?

Leave a comment

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook collage page, 1...

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook collage page, 1795 – 1834 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Scrapbook page belonging to Anne Wage...

English: Scrapbook page belonging to Anne Wager, a note from her niece Elizabeth Venables, in Abergale, July 29, 1803 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook page, finely de...

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook page, finely detailed watercolour sketches of found objects including a butterfly, a feather and seashells (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You might already know that I am  a person of enthusiasm and zest.

I am as excitable as a child, and I “do the Debbie” quite often.   🙂

My list of writing projects I’ve written up for myself is now very long, simply because the ideas keep coming.

Last year, before I started this blog in August, I began to buy sketch pads and paints and crayons and watercolors.  I all of a sudden wanted to express myself creatively with color.

Very early in January I was at a craft store for something and happened upon the scrapbooking section.  My oh my, I thought I was in heaven on earth.  There were all the textures, sizes, thicknesses of all types of paper and decorations and stickers that a person could ever want and need.   It took a major effort on my part to tell myself, “no, it’s not time yet.  Work on your book first.”

Now I’ve seen a catalogue of scrapbooking items, and do you think that caused a stir in me?  Yes, it did – and I thought, “if I start this and find it fun and exciting like writing is, then I’m in TROUBLE! ”  Writing every day is already consuming me (in a good way) and I doubt there’s room for a hobby.

Maybe you can help  me figure this out?  Would it be so terribly wrong to start a hobby when my life is already lovely and full and fun?  I don’t want a house of craft items I don’t use, and I still intend to get back to the painting and drawing – but I don’t know when.

If you are a “scrapbooker”, how many hours per week would you say you spend on it?  What are the advantages, and also disadvantages, of scrapbooking for you?

I really do want your opinion if you would be so inclined to express it.

Thank you,

Debb

 

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook page, showing a...

English: Anne Wagner scrapbook page, showing a portrait silhouette and handwritten poem, 1795 to 1834 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

