The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Gumby

4 Comments

Gumby

Gumby

Do you remember Gumby, the little green man who always had a smile on his face and was very flexible?  Since he is the epitome of flexibility, I mention him today as I would like to write about that very subject.

When I was a little girl and watched Gumby on TV, I wanted to be just like him – smiling all the time – and I thought all you had to do to be flexible was to be able to do the splits easily.   🙂  I didn’t know that being flexible meant you were willing to change plans, dreams, or dismiss what you want to do instead of balking at change or refusing to do something that wasn’t on your agenda.

Well, SEVERAL years after watching Gumby I feel I can say I do emulate him – for sure, in the smiling department – and as far as the flexibility goes, I’ve become more so in the last 10 or so years.  Now, it’s what I live for.   And it has nothing to do with gymnastics and doing the splits!  🙂   Life is much more exciting when I am willing to give up my way and try something new.

[Hmmm, actually maybe I was flexible as a child, because whenever there was a new seating arrangement at school, I always liked the idea.]

I think being stubborn and rigid are the enemies of being flexible.  Those two qualities I hate – right after perfectionism, which I have discussed with you before.

Have a flexible day!   🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “Gumby

  1. On a related note, here’s a post I did earlier this month about the green guy. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/on-a-clay-icon/

    • Loved it! I remembered the show but don’t remember the theme song. (It’s cute, though). I must’ve seen all the reruns as a child, though, because I was born after the original show was on. Anyway, I have to say, Frank, that I love your blog. Brings back all the good music to me! I think we’re probably around the same age. ~ ~ thanks for commenting!

~Let me know you were here~

