The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday

3 Comments

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, today’s poetry style is in limerick form – the type of poem that originated in Ireland. 🙂

There’s something to be said for the wearing o’ the green
With pride, the wearer seems to have a certain sheen
The colorful St. Patrick’s Day parades can’t be beat
Last year St. Paul, MN had for its parade an outside temperature of high heat
All kinds of clothing types, including shorts, were seen.

But hey, aren’t limericks supposed to be funny?
Well yes, so our model can’t be a humble bunny.
I love to write limericks because I love to laugh
So I try to picture something funny, like a giraffe
Or a pair of costume-wearing, dancing walruses, now that’s a honey!

I hope you have a wonderful day
where your inner child can come out to play
Of a favorite beverage, take a sip
Before your brother on a watery floor will slip

One more stanza will do
I should write about the funny ewe
Who hid out on a ship
So her coat they couldn’t clip
Because unshorn sheep are far too few.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “Poetry Saturday

  1. Reblogged this on The Sunshine Factor and commented:

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  2. What a wonderful limerick! Yes, folks, Eric is another good limerick writer. I challenge the rest of you to write a lilmerick for us too. Thanks!

  3. How fun, fun, fun! Well isn’t this grand?
    It’s like a little trip to Wonderland.
    Only the rabbit is green
    and there’s no evil queen
    Just an emerald Isle oompa band.

~Let me know you were here~

