The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poetry Saturday: Daisy

3 Comments

Today I will write a poem using the style of giving a personality to an inanimate object.  (A good example of this can be found in the Bible (in Proverbs) where wisdom is referred to as a “she”.)

DAISY

How fair among flowers you are, Daisy,

for you never cease to be cheerful.

You are the brightness to my dark

and giggles to counteract my sighing.

 

You prove over and over again

that most things are like the ugly duckling.

Your stem is drab and sticky,

but your face is pretty,

Upon sight of you I smile.

 

Sometimes you are are called a “painted daisy”

like my grandmother grew in her garden,

but you are usually like a white-adorned bride.

 

Your fragrance is delicate,

sometimes not even there,

but never overpowering;

sweetness at its most beautiful best.

 

I can see why you’re related to the sunflower

your middle section a beautiful yellow-gold.

Your petals grow starting at  your center

and they pass on the joy from there.

 

I admire you and have for years,

you and Tulip being the only flowers I ever drew.

I hope to pass on your sunshine

as you keep on encouraging me to never give up hope.

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

3 thoughts on “Poetry Saturday: Daisy

  1. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.

    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and amazing
    design and style.

  2. So sweet, it even makes a cynic like me smile. Happy Saturday!

~Let me know you were here~

