The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

It’s Good to be a Girl!

Leave a comment

[Unidentified girl seated in dress] (LOC)

[Unidentified girl seated in dress] (LOC) (Photo credit: The Library of Congress)

Well, it is bedtime of a day that was glorious.  I’ve already posted a lot here today, so why another post?  I just made an observation that I wanted to talk about….

When I was growing up, my parents wanted two boys so they could help out on the farm.  They had two daughters instead.  And because I was the second and last daughter,  I always felt like I shouldn’t really be here, since I REALLY disappointed my parents’ wish for a boy.  Sad, huh?

I was sort of a tomboy at one time and then became a “girly-girl”, and I am feminine to this day.  Now my parents are both dead and gone, and my sister too; but if they were alive today, I’d be telling them that now I don’t mind that I’m a girl.  (I loved the shirt a friend got me when I had cancer – it said “Fight Like A Girl”.)

I can be a loving addition to society even if I wasn’t born a boy.  A writer can be of either sex, and I do believe my writing flow has come back.!

With loving thoughts, and a reminder to know that you’re just fine the way you are ~

Debb

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

