The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

How I Handled Perfectionism Yesterday – Day 12 of Antiperfectionism Series

Leave a comment

You can determine to get the perfectionism monkey off your back.   When you let go, your life may become calmer.

Yesterday when I had a day off work and Minnesota was in the midst of a snowstorm, I chose to be home all day.  For a homebody like myself, that wasn’t a hard decision.  But what I did at home is something that’s different for me…

1.  Usually I write a “to-do” list that’s longer than anyone could possibly do in one day.  Today I just said, “I’ll clean the lower level today, and that’s all.”

2.  I started the dishwasher, washed a load of clothes and  cleaned the bathroom. ON PURPOSE I left a few smudge marks on the mirrors!  Kind of like therapy that puts you right in the middle of a situation you hate.  (aversion therapy?)  I used to have to clean everything perfectly (or so I thought), but today I deliberately didn’t clean in an excellent manner.  And you know what?  I felt good about it!

3.  Vaccuuming and dusting were “supposed to” come next.  But, lo and behold, my heart was pulling me upstairs to my office.  I wanted to write very much, and so I did.  Sometimes maybe I need to follow my heart, even if it’s for a small decision.

4.  Well, my perfectionism (new, toned-down version) was ready to say, “But you didn’t clean the whole lower level like you wanted to!”   But alas, all of a sudden I was saying to myself, “what you cleaned today is a good start to cleaning plans you had for the weekend.”  No harm done!  And I still accomplished something.  🙂

5.  I want to remember to speak kindly to myself like in #4.     I hope you are thinking the same thing about yourself.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

