The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

My Heart Is Burning…

4 Comments

English: Breat Cancer ribbons

English: Breat Cancer ribbons (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

…in a good way – I had such a wonderful day, and I am very thankful!  After work I went to my oncologist checkup.  He said everything looks fine, he is proud of me and has now promoted me to yearly checkups instead of every six months.  But the good news doesn’t stop there…In the waiting room I connected with a new cancer patient – I’ll call her Ramona – and it was like I’ve known her all my life.  We exchanged phone numbers and made her son smile and shake his head when he saw how engrossed we were in our conversation.  When other girls at work got cancer, they didn’t need my help.  But Ramona seems to really like me, and I have offered to be there for her and answer any questions she may have, to which both she and her son were glad about.

What was interesting about this conversation is twice while we talking, she got chills up and down her arms.  One time was when I told her the oncology surgeon had only wanted to do a lumpectomy, but I insisted upon a double mastectomy.  Later they biopsied both breasts and discovered cancer already starting in the “clean” breast.    So my intuition had paid off.  Then, when I suggested that I would love to get together with her and chat some more, when she felt up to it, she got more chills.    See, this is the  reason I have for writing my cancer book – for all the future Ramona’s out there, women and men I will never meet, I would still like to be a support to them if I can, regarding cancer.

Oh, and the last good thing was:  I had to get some blood drawn, and the people there and at my clinic have always had a tough time getting my veins to cooperate.  (They tend to roll and hide).  But – today – success on the first try!  And it was right in the elbow area, not having to be on my hand like usual!  🙂

Signing off for now, see you tomorrow,

Debb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “My Heart Is Burning…

  1. Good news–answer to prayer. Sounds like you have a new friend. I’m sure you will be a blessing to Ramona.

~Let me know you were here~

