The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Tanka

Leave a comment

Before NaPoWriMo 2013 came up this month, I often posted “Poetry Saturday”, which studied different types of poems. I’m especially thankful to Alexa for providing another interesting poetry style. Maybe I can try a Tanka some day. 🙂

Worldly Winds

napo2013button2

 

 

Today’s  challenge is to write a tanka. This, like the “American” cinquain, is a poem based on syllables, with the pattern being 5-7-5-7-7. They work best when those final two 7-syllable lines contain a sort of turn or surprise that the first three lines might not wholly anticipate. You can string a bunch of them together to make a multi-stanza poem, or just write one!

 

Gazing in your eyes,

memories softly playing,

gently I whisper,

you have the key to my heart,

alas… I have changed the locks.

 

Tanka 15.04.2013

by Alexandra Carr-Malcolm

Copyscape

View original post

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

