The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

NaPoWriMo #23

Leave a comment

free for use My photos that have a creative co...

free for use My photos that have a creative commons license and are free for everyone to download, edit, alter and use as long as you give me, “D Sharon Pruitt” credit as the original owner of the photo. Have fun and enjoy! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The more I wrote this poem, the more I kept thinking of “Leave it to Beaver” and his buddy Larry!

SLEDDING

Mother said: “You won’t sled and be done
until you have some fun.”

So out he went into the cold and fell off the sled
‘Twas all because of his obtuse friend Fred

Oh, they got chilled to the bone
too cold to have an ice cream cone.

They struggled up the hill flat on their bellies
while Fred, as always, was dreaming of delis.

When they finally got to the hilltop
and in the distance saw a candy shop
Fred got so excited, he fell backwards
and landed on the farmer’s herds.

Mother’s boy had not had fun
he knew this before the day was done

More sledding would have to wait till next year

till his heart saying “Let’s go sledding!” he would hear.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

