The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Day 25 Antiperfectionism series

Leave a comment

My Old Way of Thinking and the New:

Last Saturday I got a pedicure and afterward went to the grocery store with a winter coat on, flip flops (to protect my new pedicure), and jeans rolled up to the knees.  I’m sure I looked a sight!

Perfectionist me would have said:   “Debbie, you cannot be wearing flip flops with a winter coat!  And you can’t wear a winter coat with jeans rolled up to your knees!  And my goodness, your nail polish doesn’t match anything you’re wearing!”

The new me laughed and said:  “There is such a wide variety of pretty colors out there, you don’t have to always match.  Live on the wild side.  🙂  And who cares that your pants are rolled up?  The sun finally came out, and it’s getting warm, and I can think spring finally!  Oh – and about the people who gawk at me – feel sorry for them because they don’t have anything better to think about.”

See what freedom there is in nonperfectionism?  🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

