The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Mopsy

4 Comments

I got my hair cut short on Thursday.  I wasn’t going to mention that on Sunshine Factor, but something strange happened since that’s worthy of a “wow”.

History:   my hair had been naturally curly since being a teenager.  Then, as I got a lot  older, it turned into wavy hair.  About five years ago, in the year before my cancer, my hair started to curl up again (slightly).  My friend and me called myself “Mopsy”, because when I scrunched it – well, you guessed it – it was a cute mess of curls and waves.

Enter chemotherapy.   I lost all my hair about four weeks after they said it would fall out.  When it grew back, it grew kind of horizontally instead of vertically.  It was a cross between curly and wavy – all I know is, it was bushy!

Then, in the last couple of years, my hair went completely straight.  I had it professionally curled for my wedding but otherwise, it’s been straight.

This morning:  I got out of the shower and it was CURLY – all on its own – or at least, able to be scrunched.  So once again I’m wearing “the Mopsy ‘do”.  I’m glad it’s behaving like that, because it takes the sting out of having short hair again.   🙂

Here's what I'm talking about

Here’s what I’m talking about

 

 

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

4 thoughts on “The Mopsy

  1. This picture is so cute. Just like you!

~Let me know you were here~

