The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Poem: Jewel

Leave a comment

 I went to the spa on Saturday…This is a poem I wrote in September regarding a visit to that same place.

English: Amethyst is best known as a purple ge...

English: Amethyst is best known as a purple gemstone, but it’s actually a purple variety of quartz. This type of quartz can occur in shades of light lilac, lavender, mauve, and deep purple. On the Mohs scale, which tests the hardness of minerals, amethyst has a Mohs scale of 7, which means it not as scratch resistant as topaz, and even less so than diamond. The two largest sources of amethysts are Brazil and Zambia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

JEWEL

A necklace in the spa’s display case

Mesmerized me with a strong pull.

I couldn’t look away

and was lost in its complexity.

The shape of the jewel, square,

did not remind me of your eyes,

but the depth and clarity of the stone

sure did.

Your eyes remind me of

a clear, rushing river

not polluted and bubbling with life and joy.

So pure and lovely to look into.

They say that eyes are the windows to the soul

and I have every reason to believe this is true.

Your eyes contain facets just like regular jewels do,

deep, warm and abiding.

Looking into your eyes makes me feel safe;

you have seen a lot of pain and wretchedness in your time

but still your love remains, and your beauty is inside and out.

It shines forth because you, after all, are a jewel.

— by Debbie Loesel Stanton

All rights reserved.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

~Let me know you were here~

