The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

Nature Journal

2 Comments

English: A white-tailed deer

English: A white-tailed deer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Early yesterday morning, my neighborhood was serene but filled with nature sounds.

As I walked from my street and into the new subdivision, one or two houses in, I saw it.

It was an animal that you don’t usually see in broad daylight.  It was about two miles south of where his “congregation” lives.

It was a deer, standing near the pond that is between that row of houses and the row up the hill behind it.

It was young enough and had no horns, that I didn’t know if it was a buck or doe.

Either way, it stood so still, I was sure at first that it was a realistic-looking lawn ornament.

Then I saw it was real, and it looked at me, as transfixed by the sight of me as I was of it.

I called out gently, “Good morning, deer, I won’t hurt you,” and I walked on.  Wow, I didn’t startle it into running away.

 

Once up the hill and to the next row of houses, I heard a Canadian goose honking.

The sound wasn’t so unusual, it was where the goose was that I found enchanting.

He was standing on top of the roof of a two-or-three-story house; in fact, he was centered perfectly.

He honked a bunch of one-syllable “words” to his buddy or mate, on the ground two houses east.

 

I heard a blue jay “screeching” or cawing as they do.

Come to think of it, I’ve never heard a blue jay sing.

He is related to the common crow, so that is probably why.

Jays are beautiful birds, and I am told they are very protective parents in August.

 

Back home, when I sit down in my living room,

I can see nothing but trees.  I feel like I live in a nature park, and it makes me happy.

 

I thoroughly enjoy my neighborhood!  Here’s hoping you enjoy your little bit of nature where you are.  🙂

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “Nature Journal

  1. Awww we never get to see deer or geese where I live, just Cockatoos, Galahs, Rosellas and Lorrikeets. I’m happy to watch all the nature shows on television that I can – and read my friends’ nature blogs 🙂

    • I should Google “Rosella” and see if I see a pretty bird…my mother’s name was Rosella! 🙂 It sounds like you at least are surrounded by beauty of a bird nature! 🙂

~Let me know you were here~

