The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

The Little Things DO Matter

5 Comments

Vegetables in a grocery store, Paris, France.

Vegetables in a grocery store, Paris, France. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I advocate appreciating even the small things in one’s life.  Sometimes they can make you feel better than big, expensive things.  For those of you who have been following me a long time, please forgive this repeat:  I’ll never forget when I had cancer, and when I went to my regular grocery store, where you have to bag your own groceries, the lady and her son ahead of me in line bagged my groceries as soon as they heard the clerk ask me how I was getting along.  That small act of kindness and compassion became very big in my heart (and resides there still).

When my dad posed as Santa Claus and handed out candy to kids in that Michigan grocery store, he gave candy to even the senior citizens.  One lady cried because someone had taken two minutes to speak to her in a kind way, and then she didn’t have to feel forgotten.

Sunday morning I had my hot water and lemon juice before my walk, but nothing after that for several hours.  My getting sick to my stomach was a signal to my poor body that it needed hydration – and fast!  I would have felt much better if I had remembered to take care of myself – going to write instead of drinking a glass of water after my walk was just the reverse of what I needed.

And most of you know me by now:  I love to write poetry.    🙂  So, I will write a poem regarding what we have just been discussing.

THE LITTLE THINGS

Let your mouth take in food and drink

they will help you exist more fully.

 

Let your eyes see the beauty in the every day

and learn to ignore the slights against you

 

Let your feet move to assist those who need you

instead of being quiet and bored

 

Let your hands give gifts of love to those around you

or accept help if that is what is called for

 

Let your heart stay pure

never regarding anyone’s motives except your own

 

Let your brain be renewed daily

by choosing only the important things to think about

 

Use your whole body to help others

and yourself

Of this, life is made

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

5 thoughts on “The Little Things DO Matter

  1. Very nice poem Debb. I will try to comply. 🙂

  2. Just wonderful Debb. I love the poem – it’s like a modern rendition of Paul’s Epistle to the Galatians where he said: “So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone.”
    I love your recollection of the mother and son who helped pack your groceries in the store. It just goes to show… Love never fails.

~Let me know you were here~

