The Sunshine Factor

where sunshine is a way of life

A House Without Books Is… Empty!

2 Comments

Signature of Dr. Seuss

Signature of Dr. Seuss (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lately while cleaning out my furnace room full of holiday decorations, I happened upon a cardboard banker’s box.  With glee I discovered the box was filled with books from Dave’s childhood and also his mother’s.  I had always planned to go through the box sometime, but somehow the books were just pushed to the far rear shelf…until today!

Yay!  Here is Dr. Seuss!  Sometimes my poems resemble his, though I never had a Dr. Seuss book of my own…here are some classics…even some short novels.  They have found a place in my bookcase in the family room.  These will never be given away or sold – they are too precious.

Books from my childhood are in the guest bedroom on shelves.  Then, there are my friend Patti’s story books from her children.   I am thinking they will go in the bookcase in my office upstairs…

I have two bookcases, and of course they are all gleaned down to only the ones that are important to me, but the cases are still full.  (I even have one shelf as the “to be read” shelf.)  I have a plan that states I will give away each book as I read it, so as to not to need three bookcases!  Lately, I haven’t been reading books, not even magazines, but only posts from my dear friends and artists on WordPress.  Perhaps, though, I can formulate a plan for my summer like last summer:  back then I read one Nancy Drew book a week until my set was all read, then I sold them.  But you know how summer goes…always lots of plans and determinations, but life gets very busy, and plans (at least mine) go awry.  But, so what that I am working fulltime and have two blogs and am exercising again and want to add tennis to the mix…I’ll have to try real hard to follow up on the reading books part!  But what a nice thing to shoot for!  🙂

As you can tell, books have always been very important to me.  They are like dear friends who comfort you on a lonely day or night, travel bureaus that can take you to places far away, and smile-bringers and relaxation managers who want you only to relax.   Yes, my home is not lacking for books.  For this reason, my house is my home, and it is never empty.

Author: Debb Stanton

I am an optimistic, positive person who is a seven year cancer survivor. Since that time I have learned that getting a cancer diagnosis does not always mean an automatic death sentence. I like to share my hope with others and continue to encourage them - no matter who they are or what they need encouragement for. I write poems, prayers, articles, and stories. Recently the premiere issue of my online magazine, http://www.innersunshine.net launched. Thank you for visiting!

2 thoughts on “A House Without Books Is… Empty!

  1. I love books too. You are welcome to read any of mine that interest you. I mostly read from my Kindle now, but I can share those books too.

    • The longer I know you , the more I find we have in common! Sharing books sounds good to me. Wish me well on my summer plans to read one book every week or so. Today I will read a book from my friend who wrote about her brain cancer. I’ll be reviewing it on Amazon, too. By the way, Rachael says to say hello to her Aunt Pat. “I have been stalking my brother cat and pouncing on him, he doesn’t mind, and at least I can play now!” 🙂

      then

~Let me know you were here~

